Niche in Angel – all gluten free bistro

With new restaurants opening up every week in London it can be very difficult for restaurants stand out from the crowd. ‘Niche’ http://www.nichefoodanddrink.com/ has successfully marketed them as an all gluten free restaurant in Angel. As the winner of the Open Table Diner’s choice in 2015 I was really looking forward to visiting and finding out what it was all about.

IMG_2705
All GF menu
A lot of starters to choose from
A lot of starters to choose from

As always I had already had a sneak peek at the menu during the day and was very keen to try the cheese donuts. I can’t remember the last time I had something like this for starter and I would recommend visiting Niche just for the Parmesan and cheddar donuts. We also tried the new dish on the menu ‘spicy vegetable fritters’ which were tasty however nothing in comparison to the cheese donuts.

New starter - spicy vegetable fritter
New starter – spicy vegetable fritter
Parmesan cheese balls
Parmesan and cheddar donuts

Since a lot of the time when eating out I end up eating the same dishes (risotto, meat and vegetables) I decided to try the things that I can usually never have. Beef and chorizo pie was an obvious choice and the beer battered onion rings that came with the sausages and mash had to be tested.

The sausages and mash had a nice wild meat taste to it and the beer battered onion rings made me nearly want to forget about being gluten free so I could eat them more often.

Sausage, mash and beer battered onion rings
Sausage, mash and beer battered onion rings

If you have tried making gluten free pie before then you will know that it is very difficult to get the correct texture and consistency. Despite it being a bit dense it had a great flavour and it was so nice to be able to have some pie after so many years.

Beef and chorizo pie
Beef and chorizo pie

Despite being very full I had already decided that dessert couldn’t be missed and I had my eye on the dark chocolate and salted caramel tart. We decided to share this as we were very full a decision which I very quickly regretted. The dessert was incredible and if I hadn’t been so full then I would have wanted to have tried every dessert on their list. Maybe that should be done on my next visit.

Bitter dark chocolate and salted caramel tart with ice cream
Bitter dark chocolate and salted caramel tart with ice cream

Overall everything tasted great and would love to visit again. Even though it was quite a far away from where I live it was definitely worth the travel. This place shouldn’t be missed especially as it is very rare to find a restaurant that serves every dish gluten free and can even make some dairy free.  Make sure you book in advance as they are very busy!

4 thoughts on “Niche in Angel – all gluten free bistro

Leave a Reply

