Pho – Vietnamese Street Food in Battersea

Asian food is probably one of my favourite cuisines; I love the spices, fresh ingredients and could probably eat it every day if I had the option. One of the things I loved about living in Singapore and Laos was the food; Asian food everyday was the dream.

Clapham and Battersea have got so many restaurants to offer so sometimes it can be difficult to make a choice, especially when you are indecisive like me. I have been meaning to visit Pho for a while and last night my brother and I finally went for dinner.

Pho has got a very nice relaxed setting, with small wooden tables spread out with small stools. Their cocktail list has got an Asian flare to it and they also sell Beer Lao. When I lived in Laos (and ate/drank gluten) this was the go to drink for us. So seeing it in the restaurant brought back some great memories, unfortunately this time I had to give the beer a miss.

IMG_2656

The staff were very friendly and informed me that everything on the menu was gluten free (except for the hoi sin sauce in the table)…YES EVERYTHING! If you are gluten free then you will probably agree that it is very rare that a whole menu is gluten free, especially when it includes spring rolls, tempura and soy sauce.

IMG_2644
Everything on the menu is gf (except for hoi sin sauce on the table)

For starter I had the Nem hải sản which was large crispy spring roll of tiger prawn, crab & pork with nước chấm dipping sauce. These were warm and so delicious and perfectly crunchy.  The sauce was very sweet, fresh and I could have ordered in a lot more of these.

Nem hải sản
Nem hải sản
IMG_2649
Mains

For mains I went for one of my favourite Vietnamese dishes which is Bun with chicken. For those who don’t know what it is then give it a go it is “vermicelli rice noodles with a lemongrass and chilli wok-fried topping. Served with fresh herbs, beansprouts, veggie spring roll and peanuts. Noodles served at room temp just like in Vietnam. Pour over nước chấm side sauce and mix.”

Best part of the dish is that you get a crispy spring roll on the top. The dish is delicious and despite it being very large portion I couldn’t stop myself from finishing the whole thing.

Bun with chicken
Bun with chicken

My brother when for the traditional Phở tái lăn which is chicken broth with flat rice noodles and Flash fried steak with garlic (Hanoi style). He isn’t the biggest fan of Asian food but really enjoyed this dish. He was especially impressed with the tenderness of the meat.

Phở tái lăn
Phở tái lăn

Unfortunately we were too full to have any dessert. A bit disappointing as they had banana fritters with coconut or ginger ice cream. However, I will save this for next time and have it with some traditional Vietnamese iced coffee, as I am sure I will be back for more food.

One thought on “Pho – Vietnamese Street Food in Battersea

Leave a Reply

