Asian Seafood at Wright Brothers

Last Friday evening my boyfriend and I met up in Central London to go out for some food and cocktails. I have walked past Wright Brothers in Borough Market several times and have always been curious to try it. So when we found a great deal for the one at Kingly Court we decided to give it a go. I love seafood and fish and have always been very fond of Asian cuisine so the two combined seemed like a winning combination.

I wasn’t sure if they were going to be able to cater for gluten free diets as it was a set menu. However, they had an allergy menu so there was no confusion about what I could order. To make the meal even better they offered gluten free bread.

Set Menu
Set Menu (not the allergy menu)
Gluten free bread
Gluten free bread
Starter - Fijian coconut milk ceviche crispy lotus root
Starter – Fijian coconut milk ceviche crispy lotus root

The ceviche was so tasty and the coconut made it very interesting. I could have had a lot more of it. Unfortunately the chef had gone a bit over the top with the salt on the lotus root so it was too overpowering.

Grilled salmon salad vermicelli noodles, tenderstem broccoli, chilli
Grilled salmon salad, vermicelli noodles, tenderstem broccoli, chilli

The salmon salad was very tasty salad however I didn’t realise that the dish would be served cold. After a cold starter and a sorbet to finish it off I would have preferred a warm dish.

IMG_1669
Sorbet

Since none of the desserts on the set menu were gluten free they substituted it for sorbet. To be honest I never get very excited about sorbet anymore as it is always the go to dessert. Nonetheless it was very refreshing and served in three cute pots.

Wright Brothers serves great fish and seafood with an Asian influence. All of it tasted great and would be happy to visit again. Next time I will be sure to try the oysters and seafood platter.

After we were done with dinner we decided to make a trip to the Campari bar at Polpo for some cocktails.

IMG_1678

IMG_1677

I decided to go for my current favourite drink; campari, sweet vermouth and prosecco. A great way to end a lovely and warm summer’s evening. I love London in the summer, it is such a special time with so much street life, great bars and restaurants.

If you have got any recommendations of some great restaurants to visit in the summer let me know as I am very keen to try them out.

Leave a Reply

