The Truscott Arms – A Gluten Free Gastro Pub

I have wanted to go to The Truscott Arms for a long time having heard a lot of great things about the food and how they cater for gluten free diners. So when I was meeting up with my boyfriend and his family I was very pleased that he had taken my recommendation and booked a table there.

Truscott Arms in Maida Vale
Truscott Arms in Maida Vale

As I got the menu I was pleased to see that most of the dishes were naturally gluten free or could easily be made gluten free. I love it when restaurants make it simple and clearly indicate what I can eat on the menu, that way I don’t need to ask them and have them run back and forth to the kitchen. Plus there is never any confusion and I can eat the food without being worried.

Starters
The starters

For starters I went for the Cornish Crab, which was a stuffed gluten free ravioli. The ravioli was delicious and I can’t remember the last time I had fresh pasta. This was the first day that they had this dish on the menu and I hope that they will keep it on there for a lot longer.

Cornish Crab
Cornish Crab
The mains
The mains

For the main I decided to go for the red mullet.  This dish was light and perfect for lunch and went very well with a glass of Chenin Blanc.  My favourite part was the buttery hollandaise sauce which was perfect.

Red Mullet
Red Mullet

IMG_1543

The desserts
The desserts

There was no way I could miss out on the desserts as the crumble sounded so interesting. I have never had black pepper crumble and was very intrigued how this would taste.

Rhubarb with black pepper crumble
Rhubarb with black pepper crumble

The dish had some great ingredients, however I thought the black pepper wasn’t strong enough to justify having it in the dish. It is not often that you can order a gluten free crumble at a restaurant so I was a bit disappointed that there was so little crumble, maybe it was too modern for me.

Despite the dessert, the food was great and I was very impressed with how the chef had managed to make all of the dishes gluten free except for one. It just shows that it can easily be done and I can only hope more restaurants will start following suit.

Leave a Reply

